Third Island Post Rock/Metal / Co. Galway

Official Biography…

Third Island is a post metal band formed in 2015 and based in Ireland. Drawing from a wide array of influences including doom, post rock, shoegaze, sludge, progressive and stoner rock, the band aims to create a unique sound blending huge guitar tones and dark atmospheres. The band is made up of multi-instrumentalists Liam O’Connor, John Quill, and Seamus Quaid.

In the summer of 2016 Third Island released their debut EP “Dusk”. Based on themes of nightmares and sleep disorders, the EP aims to bring the listener on a journey through insomnia and fear. The EP was well received, and followed by a number of shows well into 2017.

Third Island are currently writing a follow up album, and planning and preparing for its release this Autumn. The next release aims to progress the sound of the band further down the path laid with hypnotic rhythms, darker textures and sludging riffs, while experimenting with more progressive elements than before.

The band are currently looking for live shows to showcase the release of the upcoming album this Autumn/Winter.

Get in touch via social media or [email protected] for bookings and availability.


Galway, Limerick


Post Rock/Metal, Sludge Metal

Year Formed




Members (Current)

  • Liam O'Connor -
  • John Quill -
  • Seamus Quaid -