Afterlife Death Metal / Co. Dublin

AFTERLIFE were a Dublin based Death Metal outfit that started out in 1991. They only released one demo which was very well received on its release. ‘Touch Of Reality’ was recorded by the original line-up with Niall Bergin on bass in 1992 but sometime after the recording Niall left the band and it wasn’t officially released until November 1993 after the vacant spot was filled by Cory Sloan, who had recently split from his previous band POST MORTEM.

The band were fairly successful on a local level at the time of the demos release and were noted for being a great live band, gigging a fair bit around the Dublin area with most of the other Irish metal bands doing the rounds at the time, such as SYNAPSEFIFTH DOMINIONTRICIFIX. They also had the track ‘Hidden Disorder’ from the demo feature on two Irish Metal compilation tapes. ‘In Gods Own Image – Vol.1’ and ‘A Comilation of Nursey Rhymes in A Minor’.

Eventually the band just lost momentum and slipped away into obscurity! Which is a total shame as ‘Touch Of Reality’ is an excellent demo and should a band that had a lot of potential. Check it out for yourselves…




Death Metal

Year Formed




Members (Current)

  • John Desay - Guitars/Vocals
  • Wayne Leone - Guitars
  • Ray Greene - Drums
  • Cory Sloan - Bass

Members (Former)

  • Niall Bergin - Bass