Release Details: THE CRAWLING – “Anatomy Of Loss”… Posted: 01/02/2017 by John O'Brien


Time to bring another highly anticipated Irish metal release to your attention. Well ! That is if it isn’t already pinging on your “Can’t Feckin’ Wait For It” long range sensors…
Lisburn Doom/Death trio THE CRAWLING have been going from strength to strength these last couple of years and are now set to release their debut full-length album “Anotomy Of Loss” through Northern Ireland’s Grindscene Records on the 7th April 2017. Not much else we can’t add to the official press release, so check it out below…



The Crawling

Formed in the winter of 2014 against the bleak concrete backdrop of Lisburn in Northern Ireland by Stuart Rainey (SEVERANCE) with, Andy Clarke (HONEY FOR CHRIST) and Gary Beattie (ZOMBIFIED), THE CRAWLING have came a long way since their humble beginnings. Influenced by PARADISE LOST, KATATONIA and BOLT THROWERTHE CRAWLING use a guttural vocal to combine melancholy with weight, churning out a heavy, doom/death ensemble. January 2015 saw the debut single “Choking On Concrete” which put the band on the scene, followed in October 2015 by the critically acclaimed “In Light of Dark Days” 3 track EP. 2016 was a massive year for the band… most notably performing at Inferno Metal Festival in Norway, and Bloodstock Open Air in England. The festival appearances have been reinforced by successful headline shows at home, which culminated in a main stage slot at the highly respected Siege of Limerick festival in Southern Ireland.

With the announcement of the bands debut album “Anatomy Of Loss” now brought to the fore, the band have revealed an album trailer which offers the first glimpse into what’s over the horizon. Set for release 7th April 2017 via Grindscene Records, featuring no less than seven tracks expressing desperation and defeat and artwork from Travis Smith (ANATHEMA, BLOODBATH, DEATH…), THE CRAWLING strive to spread their brand of misery ever further.

Vocalist/guitarist Andy Clarke comments, “Anatomy Of Loss is an album inspired by true events. It examines experiences of the band first hand, and what we see in our everyday lives. In short, it is a collection of stories about loss, regret and despondency. It looks at how people develop mechanisms to cope with grief, failure and heartbreak; and more often than not – the inability to do so. The recording process consisted of fun, despair, rage and subsequently immense satisfaction. Translating a song from the rehearsal studio to record is a daunting task, but this album was particularly challenging.”

“I have my own studio, so we figured we would simply invest in ourselves, and spend far too many hours ensuring everything was captured just as we wanted. The results were inspiring; we have a heavy, clear and vigorous production showcasing the songs perfectly.”



The_Crawling_-_Anatomy_Of_Loss_2017TRACK LISTING :

1. An Immaculate Deception
2. Poison Orange
3. Acid On My Skin
4. All Our Failings
5. The Right To Crawl
6. Violence Vanity and Neglect
7. Catatonic