OLD SEASON: New Album “Beyond The Black” Release Details… Posted: 12/04/2017 by John O'Brien


Kildare Heavy Metallers OLD SEASON announce May 19th as release date of their second full length album, “Beyond The Black”, via Germany’s Pure Steel Records.
“Beyond The Black” will features nine epic songs with a touch of NWOBHM. With songs usually extending beyond the typical 5 minute mark, OLD SEASON bring fantastic arrangements and fresh ideas to bear in this new collection of songs, such as ‘Scavenger’, ‘Words From Beyond’ and closing on the epic ‘Nevermore’, which showcases all the very best expected from this kind of music.


old_season_-_beyond_the_black_2017“BEYOND THE BLACK”

01. A New Dawn
02. Scavenger
03. Chosen
04. Elegy
05. The Journeyman
06. Rivers Of Cepha
07. Words From Beyond…
08. The Void
09. Nevermore

Recorded at Trackmix Recording Studio, Dublin.
Mastered at Trakworx Studio, San Francisco.
Cover Artwork: Markus Vesper



After the demise of KARNAYNA, that bands remaining members formed OLD SEASON in 2003 and released their debut EP “Volume One” that same year. And followed this up with their outstanding full length album titled “Archaic Creation” in 2009. The following year saw the band loose guitarist Ciaran Doyle and vocalist Frank Brennan (MOURNING BELOVETH). However, unwilling to accept defeat, the remaining members scouted for suitable replacements while also embarking on, what would turn out to be, a prolific period of song-writing.

Old Season

New members were found in Jimmy Kiernan joining the fold on guitars, whose creative flair and grasp of melody fitted seamlessly within the band’s musical structures and injected further impetus to their songwriting. It would take another two years, and numerous auditions before the band would finally settle on a vocalist worthy of the position. It was John Bonham’s audition in July of 2013 that would see the band take immediate interest and it was instantly clear that OLD SEASON had finally found their new vocalist. John’s vocal style and all-round creative ability have seen him fit effortlessly into the band’s creative fabric.

John Bonham (Vocals), Jimmy Blanchfield (Guitars), Jimmy Kiernan (Guitars), Dave Copley (Bass), Anto Walsh (Drums), Dermod Smyth (Keys/Piano)