Sleeping Village Thrash Metal / Co. Kildare

SLEEPING VILLAGE were a Thrash band active in the early 1990’s. I din’t really know a whole lot about the band up until last week. All I had of there’s was the track ‘The Ripper’ which was featured on the 1992 Irish Metal compilation tape, ‘A Compilation Of Nursery Rhymes in A Minor’. Original bassist Barry Ryan left the band just before the recording of their first ‘Eternal Darkness’ demo tape, which the ‘The Ripper’ was lifted from, towards the end of 1991. Drummer Aidan Quinlivan’s cousin, Shane Quinlivan, filled in on bass for the recording. Eamonn Fitzpatrick then joined the band. More tracks for their second and final ‘Sleeping Village’ demo which were at recorded at Poppyhill Studios in Naas, Co. Kildare the following year. Both these demos and the ‘Eternal Darkness’ demo tracks were all included on the CD of this release. More line-up changes followed, but the band broke up not long after.




Thrash Metal

Year Formed




Members (Current)

  • Paul Doyle - Vocals/Guitar
  • Ger Wall - Guitars
  • Eamonn Fitzpatrick - Bass
  • ????? - Drums

Members (Former)

  • Barry Ryan - Bass
  • Shane Quinlivan - Bass
  • Aidan Quinlivan - Drums