New Music: SONUS MORTIS, ONCOLOGY… Posted: 18/01/2015 by John O'Brien

sonus_mortis_war_prophecy_2015_01Dublin’s one-man Symphonic Doom/Death project SONUS MORTIS (AKA Kevin Byrne) has completed recording of his upcoming second album, “War Prophecy”. And to whet the appetite before the albums release on the 31st March 2015, Kevin has released a music video for the lead track titled, ‘Systematic Eradication’. The superb technical ability and musicianship is still there, but the track comes across as much more focused and direct than on previous releases. Which would also seem to be the case for the upcoming album which will have fifteen tracks and clock in at about forty minutes.

“War Prophecy” is definitely one of the highlights of 2015.

oncology_logoNorthern Irish Death Metal legends PUTREFY may have imploded in the last few weeks with three of the four members walking out on the band only weeks before the release of their latest, and undoubtedly best, album, “Knelt Before The Sarcophagus Of Humanity”. But from the ashes of that split comes the rise of a new Death Metal force in the form of ONCOLOGY! Featuring former Putrefy members Connor Brown, Ross Duffy and Aaron Rankin, along with DARKEST ERA, SELENE and FROSTMIRE sticksman Cameron Åhslund-Glass.

The band have a 3-track demo planned for release in the coming months but have been good enough to release one of the tracks, ‘Prelude To Oblivion’. Keeping up the standard of their PUTREFY material and adding in some classic SUFFOCATION for good measure. It certainly bodes well for the upcoming demo and hopefully more from the band.