Crom Cruach Black Metal / Co. Wicklow

Official Biography…

Crom Cruach was formed in July 2005 by founding members Cathalstrophic (Vocals) and Kradmar (Guitars).  Drummer Nocternia joined in 2008.  Their demo album Narcotic Death was self produced and released in the subsequent year.  The sound is raw and much akin to early Black Metal.

In 2010 writing began on the second album Awaken in Darkness – an 8 track album with a more mature, accomplished sound.  In 2011 the album was recorded by Shay’s Studio in Loughrea, Co. Galway.  As well as being a talented sound engineer, Shay Leon provided an amazing working environment to record in, producing an album of top sound quality without compromising on atmosphere.  On 26th August 2011 recording was completed.

With Slaine taking over on drums in 2013 lead to the recording of Rebirth in early 2014. This was to be a double album with the first half heavy, almost doom-like.  The second half was acoustically driven and experimenting with shamanism.  Lyrics and vocals are kept on a minimised, simplistic basis with the music being rhythmic and entrancing.

After over a year’s break Cathalstrophic returned in 2015 to complete the resurrection of Crom Cruach.  Their sound altered giving it a more aggressive and upfront edge, more akin to the chaos of 70’s punk than to modern Black Metal, placing it between early Venom and The Sex Pistols, with a dash of Mayhem on the side. The title of their first album, post-reunion, Defilers of the Noise is a reflection of this new direction.  Little time was wasted in getting the album written and recorded, again employing the services of Shay Leon for recording and mastering.  The completed work was released in December 2015.




Black Metal

Year Formed




Members (Current)

  • Cathalstrophic - Vocals
  • Kradmar - Guitars
  • Slaine - Drums

Members (Former)

  • Wayne Fisher - Bass
  • Shane O'Brien - Drums
  • Nocternia - Drums
  • Leviathan - Bass
  • Barry Doyle - ???